Some of my favorite authors:

  • Vonda N. McIntyre - Dreamsnake is simply beautiful; such a joy to read something from a woman’s point of view - and so powerful.
  • Roger Zelazny - thanks to my sister, for introducing me to Lord of Light, which is right up my alley.
  • KB Spangler - if you haven’t read the webcomic A Girl and Her Fed, go read it now, from the begining - terrific writing (and I love her early, simple art).
  • Michael Flynn - The Wreck of the River of Stars is such a great read, and so very well crafted.
  • Richard Kadrey - Butcher Bird is my favorite - so far. Fun, funny, touching - and skilled writing.
  • Jeff VanDerMeer - Dead Astronauts was… astounding; what a trip!
  • Robert Reed - what grabbed me was Baby’s Fire from an old Asimov’s: hard sci-fi and well worth the effort to try to keep up. It later became Sister Alice, which took the characters - and the reader - even farther.
  • N. K. Jemisin - it all started from a tweet where I made an incorrect guess as to who wrote a quote I’d appreciated. It was N. K. Jemisin, so I started with The Inheritance Trilogy Omnibus: brilliant - and again: terrific, strong female characters. (BTW: It’s 1,442 pages - and I love a book where I get to live with the characters a decent while.)